La Conférence internationale sur
Bassin du lac Tchad

Contexte

NOTE CONCEPTUELLE DE LA CONFERENCE INTERNATIONALE SUR LE LAC TCHAD

CONTEXTE

 Le bassin du lac Tchad qui est partagé par l’Algérie, le Cameroun, la République Centrafricaine, le Tchad, la Libye, le Niger, le Nigéria et le Soudan (cf. carte en annexe 1), est un vaste ensemble qui représente près de 8% de la superficie du continent africain     avec une population estimée à 40 millions de personnes selon les statistiques de 2010. Il est une ressource en eau capitale pour la pêche, l’élevage et l’agriculture pour ses pays riverains dont certains comptent parmi les plus pauvres du monde.   
En dépit de la pauvreté et des défis sécuritaires auxquels est confrontée la zone du bassin du lac Tchad, ce plan d'eau douce est une source d’approvisionnement en eau potable et constitue un environnement idéal pour le développement socio-économique. Il représente aussi un cadre unique sur les plans social et culturel en contribuant à la riche diversité de la région. Les populations riveraines du lac Tchad ont leurs valeurs culturelles, leurs croyances et traditions façonnées par leurs relations avec la nature, et partant, leur influence sur la préservation de l’environnement. 
Cependant, le lac Tchad fait face à des défis nombreux et variés. Dans les années soixante, sa superficie était estimée à 25.000 km2 contenant 135 espèces de poisson pour une production annuelle évaluée à 200.000 tonnes. Il était le foyer de productivité, de sécurité alimentaire et de richesse pour les populations vivant dans le bassin du lac Tchad et au-delà de ce bassin. Rien qu’au Tchad, le nombre de vendeurs de poissons était estimé à près de 20.000 personnes à cette époque là. Le lac est actuellement un foyer d’insécurité, d’instabilité et de perte des moyens d’existence.

Avant les années de sécheresse, dans les années soixante, les meilleurs pâturages étaient localisées dans la zone sahélienne du bassin du lac Tchad. La zone du Sahel était appropriée pour l’élevage intensif étant donné qu’il y avait rarement de conflits entre les éleveurs et les agriculteurs. Il était estimé que sept (7 ha) hectares de terre pourrait nourrir une unité d’élevage tropical pendant six (6) mois au cours de l’année. La sécheresse a provoqué la perte des pâturages et le début de la transhumance vers la savane guinéenne dans le sud du bassin.
Malheureusement, le lac Tchad connaît une forte variabilité à cause de la pression anthropique et des effets néfastes des changements climatiques. Sa superficie est passée de 25.000km2 dans les années 60 à 2.500 km2 en 1985 à cause des effets combinés des changements climatiques et la gestion non durable des ressources en eau et des ressources naturelles. Cependant, en 2013, la superficie du lac Tchad est remontée à 5.000 km2 suite à une hausse exceptionnelle de la pluviométrie.
Une  analyse de l’hydrologie du lac Tchad montre que les écoulements des eaux au cours des années humides (avant 1973) étaient estimés à une moyenne de 30-40 km3 par an alors que ceux-ci avoisinaient une moyenne de 20-21 km3 par an au cours des années sèches (après 1974) tandis que la moyenne la plus faible était de 16 km3 par an enregistrée en  1984. L’utilisation actuelle des eaux du bassin jusqu’en 2011 est évaluée à 2 Km3 par an.
 

REACTIONS AUX CATASTROPHES ENVIRONNEMENTALES

Face à la dégradation croissante de l’écosystème du lac Tchad, les gouvernements des pays membres de la CBLT ont pris les principales mesures ci-après :  

 

La conférence internationale sur le lac Tchad
Location: Transcorp Hilton Hotel, Abuja, Nigeria.
Email: info@lcbconference2017.ng   Tel: +2348037033941

The International Conference
on Lake Chad

Background

CONCEPT NOTE ON THE INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE ON LAKE CHAD 

BACKGROUND

The Lake Chad Basin which is shared by Algeria, Cameroon, the Central African Republic, Chad, Libya, Niger, Nigeria, and Sudan (see map attached as annex 1) is a large entity representing about 8% of the total size of the African continent, with a population estimated at 40 million inhabitants according to statistics of 2010. It is an essential water resource for fishermen, livestock farmers and farmers of the riparian countries most of them among the poorest in the world.   

Despite poverty and the security challenge in the Lake Chad basin area, this fresh water body is a source of water supply for drinking and a sound environment conducive to socio-economic development. It also offers a unique social and cultural environment contributing to the rich diversity of the region. Lake Chad riparian populations have their cultural values, beliefs and traditional practices shaped by their relationship with the natural environment and therefore influencing environmental sustainability. 

However, Lake Chad is facing a myriad of onerous challenges. In the sixties, its surface area was 25,000 km2 with about 135 species of fish and an annual production estimated at 200,000 tonnes. It was the epitome of productivity, food security and wealth to the people residing in the basin and beyond. In Chad alone, it was estimated that there were about 20,000 commercial fish sellers at the period. As of today, the lake is a source of insecurity, instability, and loss of livelihoods.

Prior to the drought, in the 1960s, the best grazing land was in the Sahel zone of the Lake Chad Basin. The Sahel was good for extensive herding as there was rarely conflict with crop farming and it was estimated that seven (7 ha) hectares of land could feed one Tropical Livestock Unit for six (6) months of the year. The drought led to the loss of pasture and the initiation of the transhumance migration towards the guinea savanna in the south of the basin.

Unfortunately, Lake Chad is experiencing variability in size due to both human pressure and adverse effects of climate change. Its size has reduced from 25,000km2 in the 60s to 2,500 km2 in 1985 due to the combined effects of climate change and the unsustainable water and natural resource management. However, in 2013, the surface area of Lake Chad has increased to 5,000 km2 following an exceptional improvement of the rainfall pattern.

A review of the hydrology of the Lake Chad Basin  shows that the wet years (before 1973) inflow averaged between 30 – 40 Km3 per annum, while the dry years (after 1974) inflow   averaged 20 - 21 Km3 per annum while the lowest was 16 Km3 recorded in 1984. The current Basin Water use as at 2011 is estimated at 2 Km3 per annum.

RESPONSE TO ENVIRONMENTAL DISASTER

Facing the increasing degradation of Lake Chad ecosystem, the respective Governments of LCBC’s member countries took the following major measures:  

The Heads of State and Government of the Lake Chad Basin at the 10th Summit held in N’djamena, Chad on 28 July 2000 agreed to mobilize six million ($6m) US dollars for the feasibility study of Inter Basin Water transfer from Ubangi River in Central African Republic to the Lake Chad. To this effect, Nigeria supported the study with a grant of $5m. The study has proven that the Inter Basin Water transfer is feasible, but it is capital intensive and a long term project. The study indicated that the lake inflow could be augmented by an additional 3.5 Km3 which could raise the annual inflow between 23.5 to 24.5 Km3.

Summit of LCBC Heads of State and Government held in N’Djamena, Chad on 30th April 2012. The plan had the following components: 

The implementation of the NAP has commenced in Nigeria where the riparian States of the Basin have taken up the challenge to address the current issues by setting up a Trust Fund to implement activities contained in the Catchment Management Plan of the Komadugu-Yobe Basin (KYB).

 

The Lake Chad basin has a huge and untapped socio-economic potential. These resources include the following: 

Despite all these measures, the major challenges facing the Lake Chad region remain. Hence, the need to organize an international conference with a view to reversing the trend.

THE INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE ON LAKE CHAD
Location: Transcorp Hilton Hotel, Abuja, Nigeria.
Email: info@lcbconference2017.ng   Tel: +2348037033941